The Council’s Highways and Footpaths Committee is responsible for:

  • Representing Purley to West Berkshire Council’s Highways department for all matter relating to highways and public transport, including traffic management, parking, speed control, signage and road and pedestrian safety;
  • Care and maintenance of public footpaths and bridleways within the village;
  • Provision and care of street furniture, such as noticeboards, litter and dog litter bins,  bus shelters,  winter salt bins, and servicing of bins;
  • The management of the Council’s allotments;
  • Care and maintenance of the Pikeshaw woodland;
  • The management of the Council’s burial ground.

The committee meets three times each year to make important decisions about these subjects, and works within an allocated budget.  As you can imagine, a lot of work goes on throughout the year and between the meetings, as a result of these decisions.




The Councillors on the Highways and Footpaths Committee are:

Christine Collier (Chairman)
Bill Ayling
Martin Bishop
John Chapman
Neil Haughton
Jane Langford
Rick Jones

The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Council are ex-officio members of the Highways & Footpaths Committee and have full voting rights.

The Honorary Allotments Manager is a co-opted non-voting member of the committee and attends meetings. Parish Residents can consult the Council or report concerns by contacting the Clerk on 0118 984 4507 or email  For issues with roads or pavements, residents can also report to West Berkshire Council’s Streetcare service directly on 01635 519080, or via the WBC website